Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Historian database access

Historian database access 15 years 11 months ago #207

• aop
  • Senior Boarder
Hello!

I consider about historian data collection and access to the database in Proview.
I found a class DsHistServer in the \"Object Reference Doc\", which seems to allow to create a historian database.

• The used Rdb database, seems to be very hightec orientated (alpha, itanium) or \"oldfashioned\" and not available for x86 systems - Is this right?

• If yes, are there any other ways to create an historian database, which is \"more up to date\" and operating system independent like mySQL?

• To be honest I am not a database expert, but I am looking for a simple and open interface, to create reports from values, events and alarms from Proview. I would also like to get this datas to the MS Office world. Any ideas are welcome.

Regards
    Peter
    The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Historian database access 15 years 11 months ago #209

• claes
    • Platinum Boarder
    • Thank you received: 502
    Hi,

Yes, you are right about Rdb. It was a database used on OpenVMS and the 'HistServer' was never ported to linux. We have been planning for some time to add an interface to a database server to store this kind of data, but until then we don't have so much to come up with.

Of course you can write a c program and get the values and alarms with the gdh and mh_outunit API (see programmers reference manual) and store in a mysql database, but this is probably not what you call a simple and open interface...

/Claes

Re:Historian database access 15 years 11 months ago #210

• aop
    • Senior Boarder
    Hello Claes

Thank you for your hints - anyway it is at least a solution, even it isn't so simple and open.

Else, Proview is really super. I seeked already since ages for a object orientated automation software like this - Congratulation for your work!